Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich

 

My peanut butter and jelly sandwich


I made a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for MaM yesterday. Usually, Michelle is the children’s lunch master. On this day, I was the lunch making master. And a pretty damn good one. 

When you have older children, you become a short order chef for certain meals. Lunch is one of them. Dinner is not. Ask the boss. She will tell you that. You eat what is on the table or not at all. Kids can be picky eaters. This means there are not going to be many different food requests from them. As was the case with my lunch duty. The kids wanted peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. I have not had one of these in a long time. I am more of a roast beef and ham type of guy. As I was making the meals, the PB&J treat reminded me of my youth. 

As I prepared this lunch, getting the bread and jelly from the fridge and the peanut butter from the cupboard. I remember my mom making these sandwiches when I was a child. I’m not sure why, the PB&J sandwich always reminds me of summer. 

I can think back to a time, many years ago, having lunch with my friends at summer day camp at Hayes Park in Chicago. I can smell the grass, the sandwich and my smashed up chips. Let’s face it, the chips always got smashed. But, this is one of the few foods which make me think of being a kid. 

Of course this dream is ruined when MaM deconstructs the sandwich to pick off the thicker parts of the jelly. “Mommy always picks these parts off!” she yelled as The Fox mentioned to me mommy “knows not to put jelly on the peanut butter and jelly sandwich”. 

Parenting picky eater is hard. This is going to be a long summer. 

What foods make you think of your youth?  

 

Leave a Reply

